Your workplace: your platform

work-in-denmark

I will admit, I often found myself wondering what the use is for our day-to-day living: getting up, going to work, going home, sleep, get up, go to work, go home, sleep… you get the picture?

I once even told my husband that we should sell everything we own and go sell sea shells on an island somewhere because I was tired of working and traffic and and and… But then God clearly had a message for me.

I was busy with work one day, actually proofreading the daily devotional booklet that we distribute, and through one of the devotionals God showed me that my life, and my work, is part of my role in His plan for me, and He is using me at my workplace. I am where He wants me to be… and that made me happy, that made me appreciate day-to-day life again.

We need to realise that we will spend over half the waking hours of our prime adult lives working, and we need to know that it was God’s idea and not a form of punishment. Often we think work was the result of the curse in Eden, but it wasn’t. God gave Adam the job of tending the garden before sin came on the scene (See Genesis 2:15). Jesus was a carpenter (See Mark 6:3). And Paul, one of the greatest Christians in history, was a tentmaker (See Acts 18:1-3). There’s nothing dishonorable about work worth doing, and work done well.

Our workplace is our platform to share Jesus with our colleagues, to live according to God’s Word and show them how great God is. Your workplace is the place where God wants to use you right now! He has a great plan with you where you are right now! Embrace the opportunity!

You don’t need to have specific qualifications or training to work for God, we are all preachers placed strategically where we are.

May you use your platform to the glory of God. May you bring joy and loving care to your workplace and allow God to use you wherever He has placed you right now.

Blessings,

Stephanie

Leave a comment